Evergreen’s purpose is to give Smyth County citizens the ability to work on conservation issues at a local level. We offer financial assistance via state funds through the Virginia Agriculture Cost-Share Program, state tax credits, local district projects, and education programs. We strive to help our farmers economically by helping them produce higher quality products through better farm management techniques.

Use the menu located above to learn more.



About Evergreen

Evergreen’s Board of Directors

The Board of Directors are elected officials of Smyth County. They serve voluntarily and are not paid for their time or work. Our Board Members are Billy Bear (Chairman), Kristy Waller (Vice Chairman), Justin McClellan (Treasurer), Seth Umbarger, and Andy Overbay as the Smyth County Extension Agent.


Heather Combs

Heather Combs was just recently hired this year as the new Conservation/Education Specialist. She was originally from Smyth County but had recently been living in North Carolina until moving back home this fall. Heather is in charge of the District’s Seeder Rental Program and the county Lime Program. To contact her give her a call at 276-706-3067 or email at

Sarah Gardner

Sarah is the Senior Conservation/Education Specialist. She was hired in 2015 and was voted Southwest Area IV representative in 2016 for Virginia Association of Conservation District Employees. She is in charge of the VACS BMP Program and the North Fork TMDL Program. To talk to her by phone call 276-706-3068 or email

Jeana Waddle

Jeana has served as the Administrative Secretary for Evergreen SWCD for twenty-five years. To talk to her by phone call 276-706-3064 or email

FOIA Information

Evergreen’s Freedom of Information Officer is Jeana Waddle. If you have any questions pertaining to a FOIA request or information, please contact her. Click here for more information related to FOIA.